In December 2015, the landmark Paris climate agreement was agreed to by 195 nations around the world. The agreement signals the global resolve to reduce CO2 emissions and to curb the rate of global warming. To date, out of 197 countries that have signed onto the Paris agreement, 153 (78%) have already ratified the agreement and put it into force in their own country, committing themselves to a self-determined plan to reduce CO2 emissions. Trinidad and Tobago is among the minority (22%) of countries which have not ratified the agreement. 

In the lead-up to the Paris meeting, each country was asked to prepare their own plan for curbing CO2 emissions. Trinidad and Tobago committed to reducing emissions by 15% by 2030, in the power generation, industrial and transport sectors and was one of the first countries to submit an Intended Nationally Determined Contribution (INDC). While Trinidad and Tobago is a signatory to the agreement, our government has not ratified the agreement and therefore the agreement is not in force. 

Most of our regional CARICOM neighbours have already ratified the agreement and have met the initial entry into force date of November 4th, 2016. The only other countries within the CARICOM region that have not ratified the agreement are Suriname and Haiti. 

According to sources, the recommendations were submitted to Cabinet for review and approval. A decision is pending.